Ingredients: What is in your flour?

Pattern

I have never thought about the ingredients flour. I have always assumed that it is the pure result of grinding a grain or lentil, with extra gluten sometimes added to wheat flour.

A few weeks ago I bought a pizza and focaccia flour from a bulk health store, and made wonderful pasta and focaccia from it. It was so good, especially the pasta. Today I went back to the shop to replenish my stock, thinking of making pasta again.

Wandering around the endless array of different flours, musing about how to incorporate some of them into my pasta recipe, I eventually came to the tub containing the Pizza and Focaccia flour. Listed on the tub were the ingredients – wheat flour and soya flour. A little surprised at this, I read on. Emulsifiers, colouring agents, flavouroids, some other chemically named ingredients that I had no idea about.

I was really surprised and it reinforced for me how complacent we are about the common ingredients that we use. I will be reading labels of flours more closely from now on.

Do you read labels of common ingredients?

 

 

Enhanced by Zemanta

 

8 Comments Add yours

Leave a Reply

