Recipe: How to Pack a Great Lunch | Beans in a Jar Lunch | Packed for Work, or Home.

Beans in a Jar Lunch

I love a few things in my kitchen at the moment — organisation and pre-cooking, my fridge and freezer, and my slow cooker.

I love jars and easy eating. I love good food and great tastes. I love freshness and beautiful comforting food that is healthy.

It all came together yesterday with some dried cannellini beans. I love to use the slow cooker option on my rice cooker for good, SLOW, slow cooking. My other slow cooker cooks too fast for my liking. So the beans were soaked overnight and then cooked without salt for a loooong time in my slow cooker. It did take me longer than expected – I cooked them for 18 hours, from later afternoon until mid morning the next morning. Not that it needed it necessarily, but at 9 hours they were still a little hard.

You will not necessarily take this long. Your cooker may be faster. Your beans might be fresher. Anyway, when they are done, drain them. You can freeze them for use later is you wish.

Take a nice jar, I used one that was wide and not so high — it used to hold a wonderful curry paste. Add some of the cooked beans and season with salt and black pepper. Dress with adequate and wonderful extra virgin olive oil. Take half an avocado and mix it through. Top with some baby spinach leaves.

Along with the jar of beans, pack some flat bread and a hunk of good cheese. What a lunch! Gorgeous.

Put the rest of the beans in the fridge or freezer for later use.

You can also add, if you wish, black olives, a drizzle of red wine vinegar, a bit of Dijon mustard, basil, parsley, green coriander, and/or chopped tomatoes (or halved cherry tomatoes).

It is pretty special. It doesn’t have to be lunch. Home alone for the evening? Make up a jar and eat it in front of the TV.

 

Feel free to browse our Salad recipes here and here. Or you might like to browse Slow Cooker recipes here. Check out our easy Autumn recipes here and here.

4 Comments Add yours

Leave a Reply

